Quest №3: Chill, It’s Just A Hobby

Dear reader,

Once again I am happy to meet you with a fresh weekly post. But before proceeding with a new quest I would like to share my experience. I literally feel how my daily blog posts ceases to be simply course assignments and transform into numerous excuses to get closer to interesting people. The interview I had this week will stay in my memory as one of most pleasant ones in many ways. Cozy atmosphere, arty talk and nice tea might have had their influence, but what made 3 hours of Saturday evening the top-notch of my weekend was my great interviewee. Aita Romanova made me feel comfortable and welcomed, so that I did not hesitate to ask questions and shoot some material for the short video of her in the artistic process!

Cartoon-Life-in-Sk3-by-Aita-Romanova

Judging by the speed with which Defacto’s freshly editions are swiped from the front desks every two weeks, I assume everyone should be acquainted with Aita’s drawings. Funny cartoons on the current affairs of the student life are the creations of her imagination. But that’s not it:

Well, I’ve been drawing all my life, I would say, from my childhood. I have never thought of doing it as a profession, or even going to the art school, because I was thinking that it is going to ruin my style. I didn’t want anyone to tell me how to draw, but eventually I went there (art school) with my friend and then I was going to the art school by myself. And, actually, it was really good. I mean, I learnt all the basics, which I didn’t know before, like all the still life drawings and all the other classical styles of drawing. It was really good for me. I extremely improved my skills and it was obvious when I finished my school with a red diploma (=4.0 GPA).

MBtPPovU6IA

As usually after brief introduction of someone’s artistic experience, we arrived to all the same point: why AUBG? And even though Aita let me know from the very beginning that she never wanted to become a professional artist, I still wondered whether she has not considered any art schools at all. Answering my question Aita said:

I chose like 6 or 7 art institutions in Russia. But AUBG takes its entrance exams and all that bureaucracy stuff starting from October or even November, so that was what actually made me come to AUBG. When I graduated from the high school, I had all my documents in AUBG already, so I did not even apply to the other institution because it was all decided.

Besides as Aita said, field of studies did not play such an important role for her back then. What she wanted the most was “to move from my hometown”. In addition due to the fact that her older sister was also studying in AUBG, the university was “checked” and rated as “safe” and suitable for Aita. So, I doubt anyone on the same place would have doubts about where to study.

Although, it was clear Aita had no major regrets about coming to AUBG, I could not help elaborating on the question. Do not judge me! It is a part of my blog topic, isn’t it?  Besides, I did find out something, even though nothing of great significance:

34DNdda79xgOne main regret I have now is, when I sometimes draw human body, I feel that I do not know something. And I need to know! […] Maybe when I really want to achieve an excellence in drawing, I regret not going to the art school. But that’s only about those things like anatomy.

Why would Aita have any other regrets? All her hobbies and skills found realization in here – playing drums and mastering bass guitar in Rock Jamming Club, writing for the JMC classes, running AUBG Otaku Club with the opportunity to continue drawing for the student newspaper and in free time.

It seems one never stops doing arts if he likes it, even if the university is not particularly art oriented, or classes and homework take all the time, or whatever reasons one can come up with. Only the person is in charge of practicing his or her hobby/passion. Aita likes drawing and she keeps doing it, and I hope will continue, because she is damn good at it!

Thanks for your attention and let me know what you think about it!

Best,

Tata

You can also follow me on Facebook & Twitter

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Quest №3: Chill, It’s Just A Hobby

  1. It’s nice to find out more about Aita and her passion for art. Another talented AUBG student! But for me, the best part of the post is when you wrote: <> You are becoming a true journalis, Tata! I always say being a journalist is like getting a passport to talk to almost anyone, and now you can understand this…

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

The Curious Cases of AUBG Artists

How do AUBG students decide to pursue artistic life?

White Fang

Are stray animals friends or enemies?

No Regrets

What should every student do in college to graduate without regrets?

Valerie Anne Kelly

ARTIST - Painter & Photographer

Cinemaniac Chronics

Everybody has a passion. My passion is cinema and I want to share it with you.

sports around the world

Which sport is the most popular in your country? Why?

Fire for Your Phoenix

What lifts your spirit when you are down?

Your Tattoo

What is the story behind your tattoo?

The world is your runway.

What does fashion mean to you?

Our Sporting Heroes

This blog will focus on athletes that have had an effect on students and what characteristics they admire about their sporting heroes.

Frozen moments

Every photograph has a story. What is yours?

Baking Love

How much love can you put in the oven?

Snowboard ON

How far can you reach, while you are on that board?

Choosing a MAJOR path

How do college students choose a major and find their place in the professional world?

15 Minutes

What would you do if you were told you only had 15 minutes left on this planet?

Blagoevgrad Narrates

What are the captivating narratives of the people in Blagoevgrad?

Sneakers & Speakers

Shall we dance?

Freshmen with PhD

How did AUBG professors spend their time in college?